Behind my QVD file

Have you ever considered your QVD files to be more than data files? If your answer is no, then you should keep reading this post.

I was working in my laptop when I found by chance a QVD file that should not have been there. I usually store everything in a server and work in the server so I wondered why that file was there.

When I opened it, I could recognize the data in it and I couldn’t remember why I copied that file from the server to my laptop or why I had created it.

It turns out that QVD files are more than data files. They contain a structure behind that can be very useful. This XML structure can tell you the following about your QVD file:

  • Creation date
  • QVW file that created the QVD file
  • QVD store path
  • Table name used to create this QVD file
  • Field names, formats, length, etc.
  • Query used to pull data before creating the QVD file
  • Qlikview Load statement used in the QVW file.
  • And more

As we can appreciate, you can have a full understanding of that QVD file without even having Qlkview installed in your environment.

So, how do we see all this information? Simply change the file extension from .qvd to .xml. You can then open your file with any text or XML editor.

Image

You can also load this structure in a QV application and play with the data you get from it. To do this, you should:

  • Double click your QVD file
  • In the File Wizard window, select XML in the File Type menu.
  • Finish and load your application

JV

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Behind my QVD file”

  1. Steve Dark says :

    Hi JV,

    I can highly recommend QViewer for digging around in QVD files. It associates QVD’s with a double click action in Windows and allows a quick view of QVD contents and that meta data. Particularly useful when there are a lot of data sources feeding into a single QVD.

    You can download it here: http://easyqlik.com/

    • biexperience says :

      Hi Steve,

      Thanks for the tip. I took a look at it and it’s a pretty nice tool, although I can’t find it useful for now.
      If you need to analyze in detail your data, I’m sure it’s very useful. However, I always like to know what’s behind each file (in a manual way). I think it’s the best way to learn things. Once you need to automate something, then it’s better to use a tool (if possible, free).

      Juan

  2. Albert Surrounding says :

    I completely agree with Steve

Leave a Reply

